Emiloo

2004-08-26

Broke-Ass Berfday

Ah, the birthday week is underway. I say, ride that birthday train until it stops, you know? And I've already been taken to lunch twice (by Brandon, and again by Jaci and Jessica from work, both times to my favorite burrito place), AND today I got an Amazon gift certificate. This was a nice pick-me-up, since the husband and I are currently broke-ass broke. Happy birthday, we're poor!

With my Amazon money (which I did not use to order books; I get those for free at the ole lieberry, and I can buy them at a discount, too), I bought Philosphy Amazing Grace perfume solid, which smells like a wonderful bubble bath. I also got Rachael Ray's Thirty Minute Meals. I KNOW, she is obnoxious and annoying and a horrible tipper AND she wears odd and unflattering pants. But every recipe of hers that I've tried has been great. Also, I like cookbooks and this one was cheap because it's old. And it's my birthday. So there.

I'm turning 26 over the weekend. Is there anything cool about 26? I do know that I will be checking different boxes on some surveys, but that's about all I can think of. I sure don't feel 26, whatever it's supposed to feel like. I would like to think that 26 is supposed to come with more money, and perhaps less chub. That is what I would like for my birthday. Or some mechanism to convert the latter into the former?

Anyway, I have no plans, except to not be at work. I'm leaving early tomorrow, and I'm hoping to paint my study (Mediterranean, by Ralph Lauren. I hope it doesn't look like ass) and read a lot. There will be some going out and drinking, brunch with my mom and sisters, lots of sleeping, watching Outfoxed (which I ordered a month ago and haven't had time to open), reading fluffy novels, and perhaps some sort of bubble bath. I'm very much looking forward to it.

I won't be back to work until Tuesday, so until then....

emiloo at 11:56 a.m.