Emiloo

2004-04-05

Give Me Back My Hour

So, I cheated on the old South Beach Diet. Seth and I split a bottle of wine on Friday night while watching season 1 of The Office (haw!). It was so worth it.

And, there was also a little indiscretion on Saturday morning, when I met my AP English teacher for brunch. Hey, she was the one who wanted to eat at Cracker Barrel. It is not my fault that their breakfast menu is what it is. And what it is is delicious. Ha. But it is also coated in cheese and topped with hash browns and served with biscuits and jelly. Biscuits and jelly! I know. But, my weight has held firm at my previous five-pound loss, and I have decided that it is okay to let go a little on the weekends. It makes it easier to be such a sad little food robot during the week.

Also, I found the elusive Laughing Cow Light cheese. This stuff is hard to find, dude. After looking for it for a couple weeks, when I spotted it at Harris Teeter yesterday, I did an honest-to-God, comic-style double take. Then, I grabbed the two rounds of wedges and looked around furtively (and dorkily), like someone was going to take them from me. Uh, then I paid $3.99 apiece for them. Gah. But, it's good stuff, as far as spreadable cheese wedge stuff goes.

~~~

Last night, the husband and I went to see Starsky and Hutch, which was fine and all (I really wasn't expecting anything life-changing), then we proceeded to get stuck on the interstate for almost an hour. We were only about 20 minutes from our house, but it took an hour to get home. Lovely. We passed the time by listening to the radio and reading a religious tract we found outside the theater. I'm not sure what the gist of the tract was, but it involved a grim reaper, and a man with a pipe, who said, "Wha?"

When we got home, we were bitter, because not only did we have to lose an hour to this crapass, archaic, having-more-time-to-plough-the-fields, daylight savings bullshit; we also lost an hour to the goofy tangle that is the Nashville Interstate system. I want those hours back. I am groggy. Groggy, but full of celery stalks stuffed with Laughing Cow, so I guess things could be worse.

emiloo at 11:13 a.m.