Emiloo

2004-03-05

Get on Board, Step Inside

Today's Friday Five:

What was...

1. ...your first grade teacher's name?

Mrs. Rumbley. I think she had a touch of the crazy. She lived somewhere in my parents' neighborhood, and one day we came home to find her standing in our yard, looking at our house. She paddled me. Twice! I was six, for God's sake. Also, her husband was the butcher at our neighborhood grocery store.

2. ...your favorite Saturday morning cartoon?

This wasn't technically a cartoon, but I really loved The Great Space Coaster. I don't meet many people who watched it, probably because it came on at something awful like 6:00 in the morning. I also loved the Smurfs (except I usually got bored halfway through, because I think they were on for an HOUR AND A HALF straight here), and the Muppet Babies.

3. ...the name of your very first best friend?

Yolanda Jones, from kindergarten. We still keep in touch, a couple times a year. We each attended the other's wedding. Aww.

4. ...your favorite breakfast cereal?

My mom was very anti-junkfood when I was very little, so anything sugary was always a special treat. I really loved Trix and Froot Loops, but rarely had them. I think we ate a lot of plain Cheerios and Kix. Now, I like anything almond or honey flavored.

5. ...your favorite thing to do after school?

Honestly? Probably reading, followed closely by watching The Electric Company, 3-2-1 Contact, and He-Man. God, did I love some educational television and Masters of the Universe (sidebar: has anyone seen the new, revamped, sissied-up Masters of the Universe? NOT COOL.)

~~~~

So, that was exciting. Um, I don't have much time to write about much else (ha, convenient how you could infer from that that I actually have something going on worth writing about, just no time. Never! Enough! Time!) because I'm leaving at NOON today, baby. Noon! This is the only reward I get after working 12 or 13 days straight, and I'm excited. Except that I have to go to the big Lawn & Garden show with my mom. I take solace in the fact that it's at the fairgrounds and maybe they will have junky fair food. Funnel cakes!

Have a great weekend!

emiloo at 11:31 a.m.