Emiloo

2003-04-16

In My Easter Bonnet

Because all of you have been waiting for it, here is a little something to bring you closer to the thrill that was Mule Day 2003--a slideshow, courtesy of the Tennessean newspaper.

Here's a little preview. It appears to be a man on a wagon pulled by miniature mules. Next to him is a snowman (or muppet?), dressed in his Sunday best. I don't think the evil, tiny snowman in sunglasses has mule ears; I think those are from the mule behind him. I don't know.

Please note all the American flags and yellow ribbons. The mules (and the scary little snowmen) support our troops! God bless the USA! (Hey, there's a song you can bet was played at some point during Mule Day.) Doesn't that make you want to come to Tennessee?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So, tomorrow night, my husband's band is playing. Late. Eh. I'm sure it will be a good show, but I am so old, and I'm still tired from Saturday night (and it's Wednesday now). I told you, I'm a little old lady.

This weekend, his band is recording. Maybe even on Easter Sunday. This will not prevent me from making the deviled-egg chicks, I assure you. I've been waiting for weeks to do that. Seriously. I would also make a big, scary bunny-head coconut cake, like my mom used to, but no one ever ate it then, so I'm guessing they wouldn't now. I love making food in the shape of goofy-assed stuff. I made my friend Stephanie a jelly-roll cake in the shape of a diploma when she graduated from college (dude, the "ribbon" was Fruit by the Foot!). What does that say about me? Probably something sad.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My Easter plans include going to church (unless my husband is still recording; then I'm off the hook! Off the hook as in excused, not as in "off tha hook!"/in da club/whatever), eating at the in-laws', asking my niece questions about the Easter bunny, eating some of niece's candy (especially if she gets some Cadbury Mini-Eggs!), eating dinner at my parents' house. Lots of ham and deviled eggs. I'm okay with that, really.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A diploma cake, like the one I made for Stephanie, except I really think mine looked better and less-smushy. I am a dork.

emiloo at 12:15 p.m.