Emiloo

2003-04-08

Street Dreamz are Made of These

First of all, this rules:

Thank you to my friend Kevin for taking this picture in his office parking lot. Please note: I am not making fun of Selena, unless if by Selena you mean the movie starring Jennifer Lopez/J. Lo/Jenny from the Block. I am always amused by car "art," and I am usually a little confused/intrigued by people who choose it as a means to memorialize others.

Seth and I saw a bright, glittery purple lowrider truck at the mall the other day, all decked out with chrome this and that. Across the windshield, it said "Street Dreamz." And dammit -- we didn't have a camera with us. You see, my friend Brandon was a member of a Street Dreams (less cool spelling) club in high school. He was the vice president or something (you can see what a hard-core gang this was, with its elected officers and all). When he told us this, Seth and I thought we should revive Street Dreams/Dreamz, and we should have names that related to our car. Or something. Seth drives a Pathfinder, which he sometimes calls the Assfinder. Jokingly. I suggested we change the spelling to be more in flava with the Street Dreamz, thus, AssFynda. Seeing the real-life Street Dreamz ride just blew us away. But I digress.

Oh, and one time I saw an old, beat-down Ford Festiva with the words "Sweet Honesty" across the windshield. I'm pretty sure this did not refer to the old-school Avon perfume, which for some reason seems to relate nicely to yesterday's Mule Day entry, but again, I digress.

These cars, plus several indescribable things we saw at Mule Day, convinced us that we need to start carrying cameras in our cars at all times.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My friends' baby, Jackson, is precious. He basically just slept the whole time I was at the hospital, but that was cool. I am so not ready for giving birth, raising kids, any of that. We don't even have enough time or responsibility to take care of a freaking dog right now (although I would like a pug, a chihuahua, and a retired greyhound, and I have names picked out for all of them), so I'm glad that my friends are having babies to (1) remind me of how totally not ready I am and (2) let me still get to play with precious little peanut-muffins like Jackson.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

emiloo at 9:50 a.m.