Emiloo

2006-06-26

Talking to Myself

Hey there, it�s time for my semi-annual diary update. I�m not even going to try to mention writing more often; I don�t want to lie to my millions of readers. You deserve more.

So. How about a quick update? After all that damned work, my mother finally sold her house, closing on April 25. I won't lie--that's the hardest thing I've been through. Not just the endless hours, weeks, months of work to get the house ready, and leaving the house I grew up in--hell, the house I was married at, but mostly watching my mother go through that, working so hard to sell a house that she never wanted to leave in the first place.

Since that time, she�s lived with Seth and me. And our two dogs. And her dog, and her cat. In our teensy house, with one bathroom. So you can imagine how fun that�s been. Actually, it hasn�t been so bad; it�s mostly the animals that make it seem crowded.

Mom finally found a house she wanted to buy (that someone didn�t snatch up from underneath her with a crazy offer and no contingencies) a few weeks ago, and she�s all set to close on the 29th of this month, praise the baby Jesus. Not that I want her out or anything (uh, not that I�m begging her to stay longer, either). I just want her happy. Or something.

Seriously, though, it is nice to see her so excited about the new place. I expect we�ll have several weeks� worth of painting and minor things to do before she actually moves in.

****

Last night, Seth and I went with some friends to see Kathy Griffin, who is one funny lady. I haven�t laughed that hard in a long time. Seriously, my cheeks were hurting by the end of the night. She is my newest pretend best friend (since I don�t hear from Tina Fey much anymore. WhatEVER, Tina).

My plans for the next four days include getting a pedicure (this will be my third pedicure ever) and fidgeting like a spastic four year-old while I count down the minutes until Friday around 11:40, when I will pick up my friend Melissa from the airport and drive to Knoxville for CAMP. Camp! You might remember that I went to camp last year? With the lovely Amblus? We like to call it Internet Dork Camp, but we could also call it Drunken Whores on a Boat or something equally charming. Basically, it�s 9 of us long-time internet friends hanging out for a long weekend at a lake house. Also, booze. It�s a weekend I very much need right now. I�m not sure what Seth will be doing while I�m gone, since I�m leaving him at home with my mom for the weekend. Perhaps they can watch some Lifetime movies together and mulch around my flowerbeds?

Link:

Didn�t you always kind of know John Mayer was an asshole? I mean, that �Daughters� song is just plain creepy.

emiloo at 2:14 p.m.